Search Menu

New York’s Chief Administrative Judge Announces Lifting of Ban on Filing New, Non-Essential Matters in New York City and Surrounding Counties Print PDF


Between May 18, 2020 and May 20, 2020, pursuant to Administrative Order 111/2020, courts of the New York Unified Court System in the 35 counties that entered Phase 1 of the State’s re-opening plan began accepting filings, including the filing of new matters.  For those case types approved for electronic filing, such filings must be made through the New York State Court’s Electronic Filing system (“NYSCEF”).  To the extent NYSCEF filing is not available for a case type or court, new matters may be filed via mail, and subsequent documents must be filed via the court’s Electronic Document Delivery System (“EDDS”).  Service of documents, other than the commencement documents, shall be via electronic means.  Unrepresented parties are permitted to file, serve, and be served by non-electronic means.

Yesterday, Chief Administrative Judge Lawrence K. Marks announced that commencing May 25, 2020, e-filing through NYSCEF – including the filing of new non-essential matters – will be restored to the remaining counties, i.e., the five counties of New York City, and the counties of Nassau, Suffolk, Dutchess, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Sullivan, Ulster and Westchester.  Restoration of NYSCEF will be limited to cases where represented parties file and serve papers electronically.  As with the other counties, unrepresented litigants may continue to file, serve, and be served papers through non-electronic means.

Link to Administrative Order 111/2020:

Link to Chief Administrative Judge Marks’ May 20, 2020 Memorandum:

We use cookies to enhance your browsing experience. Please know that by continuing to explore our website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.