Search Menu
New York’s Chief Judge Announces E-Filing Requirements for Appellate Division
Posted in General Matters

The Chief Judge of the Court of Appeals and of the State of New York, Janet DiFiore, announced that as of March 1, 2018,  all four Departments of the New York State Appellate Division will commence electronic filing in certain appellate matters and original proceedings.

The cases subject to electronic filing as of this date in each Department are:

  • First Department:  All appeals in commercial matters originating in the Supreme Court, Bronx and New York Counties.
  • Second Department:  All appeals in matters originating and electronically filed in Supreme and Surrogate’s Courts in Westchester County.
  • Third Department:  All appeals in civil actions commenced by summons and complaint in Supreme Court originating in the Third Judicial District.
  • Fourth Department:  All appeals in matters originating in, or transferred to, the Commercial Division of Supreme Court in the Fourth Judicial Department. 

The Chief Judge also announced that the e-filing program will be expanding in the coming months, and additional cases and case types will be subject to e-filing in each Department.  For more information on the Chief Judge’s announcement, see

Add a comment

Type the following characters: whisky, five, sierra, five, papa

* Indicates a required field.


Recent Posts